Autumn Colours at the Crook O’ Lune

The Crook O’ Lune is a popular spot near Lancaster where the River Lune travels in a big horseshoe bend. JMW turner used the scene as the focus of one of his paintings.

The weir

I was woken up at  6.30 am to the sound of hail hammering on the bedroom windows. I got out of bed and opened the curtains, the ground was white over with a mixture of hail and snow. I felt like creeping back under the covers but I had arranged to go walking with Les. We were off to the Crook O’ Lune to do a circular walk along the riverside paths. The weather forecast promised blue skies for later in the day and a chance to appreciate the Autumn colours.

We parked inn the car park at SD532647 and walked past the picnic benches and the easel sculpture. This replicates the scene painted by Turner.

Steep wooden steps that were covered  with fallen leaves and rather slippery led us down to the riverside path. We turned left to head upstream and enter some woodland. Leaving the woods we returned to the riverside path and strolled along in the sunshine enjoying the views.

We passed a small weir and were amazed at the amount of water flowing down the river.

At Waterworks Bridge we crossed the river to walk back along the other side. From this side we could appreciate the autumn colours reflected in the water.

Soon we were opposite out starting point but we carried on for another mile through the Memorial Forest and using an old disused railway line.now a cycle track to reach the old station.

From here we crossed the bridge over the river to Halton and then followed the riverside path upstream back to our starting point.

It was easy walking and very pleasant with the sunlight filtering though the trees. My favourite spot was close to the weir where there was a big contrast between the almost still water and the raging rapids.

I have tried to stitch three images together to take in the whole scene.

River view

We only did just over 5 miles but it was worth the effort to enjoy a perfect Autumn day.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Adventures with Les, Lancashire, Natural History, Photography, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autumn Colours at the Crook O’ Lune

  1. Tracey says:

    “look at the colours”

Leave a Reply

