Cala Deia

We caught the 10.00am bus from Porto Soller to Deia and then walked down to Cala Deia following the signs for the GR221. Unlike last time I was here, the Torrent Major was completely dry. Apparently there has been hardly any rain in Mallorca over the summer months.

The path down to Cala Deia

We chatted to a couple of walkers who were out here with their rambling club and after a suitable rest we climbed up the steep path to the right of the cove to admire the view lo0oking down to Cala Deia and some of the impressive rock formations.

A few minutes later we heard voices and a large group of ramblers came into view including the two people we had been chatting to down at the cove. Their leader said “ I recognise you. Are you Crosbyman?” They were from Formby U3A , just a few miles up the coast from where I live. It’s a small world!

They were going to walk along the coastal path as far as Llucalcari then cut up to the road to link up with the GR221 which they would follow to the Mulleta before dropping down to Porto Soller.

Ian and I were taking a different route, following the GR221 to Can Prohom. This is known locally as the “Postman’s Path” We passed the Capella de Castello which is now almost a ruin and the followed the Cami des Rost down into Soller.

Back at the port we had plenty of time for a swim. The water was clear and I could see plenty of fish. Soon I was surrounded by them and they were nibbling at my feet. You would have to pay good money for a fish pedicure in Liverpool and I was getting one for free.

That evening we ate at Campo Sol where we had a three course meal for 9 euro. It has got to be the best value in the resort.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Photography, Travel, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cala Deia

Leave a Reply

