Zwolferhorn–The Panoramic Loop Trail.

The Zwolferhorn is a 1522 m high mountain situated just to the west of St Gilgen on Lake Wolfgangsee. The summit can be easily reached from St Gilgen by taking the cable car.

My plan was to do the circular panoramic trail from the summit to the neighbouring peak of Pillsteinhohe 1478 m.

It was graded easy and should only take me a couple of hours.

The price of a return ticket was 22 euro and the ride was very smooth.

The ascent in the cable car

From the summit station I joined the clear track and was immediately amazed at the sheer number and variety of wild flowers.

1701

I had only gone a few yards when I spotted some orchids and stopped to take a photo. A few more yards and I saw some type of Bellflower. It was going to be a long walk.

Alpine flowers of the Zwolferhorn

The scenery was fantastic and I could look down on Wolfgangsee and Mondsee.

The panoramic loop trail

The trail contours round Pillsteinhohe but I could not resist making a slight diversion to climb up to the summit at 1478 m.

Pillstein 1478m

Back on the main track I continued round Pillsteinhohe and different views were opening up towards Hintersee. The route was very well signposted with route numbers and estimated times. There were also occasional information panels giving notes on the flora and geology of the region.

Signposts

There were yet more varieties of wild flowers that were new to me.

Wild flowers of the Zwolferhorn

As I completed the circuit of Pillsteinhohe and re-joined  my outward route I could see the summit of the Zwolferhorn up ahead of me. A rough track led to the summit and although I could see the cross on the summit it seemed quite a climb. But I had to do it.

Towards the summit of the Zwolferhorn

I’m glad that I went for it because half way up I spotted some lilies.

Mountain Lily

Once at the top I was surprised to see lots of people. They had come along the wide track and steps leading up from the cable car station. I had done it the hard way.

View from the summit

Still, it was worth it for the view and I got someone to take a picture of me on the summit.

At the summit of the Zwolferhorn

Summit of the Zwolferhorn

 

There were lots of Para-gliders on the grassy slopes alongside the cable car station. I watched several of them as they laid out their equipment prior to launching themselves off the mountain.

Paragliding

I picked up a leaflet advertising tandem rides. A quick and exciting way down. It was only 120 euro

Should I go for it?

Apart from the insurance factor there were several conditions to be met:-

1 – You had to be over 12. – I’m well past that age.

2 – You had to be over 1.5 metres tall. I just about made that.

3 – You had to weigh under 90 kg. Well, I might have just about made it but with my rucksack I was just half a kilo over the limit.

What a shame.

Actually, I made the last bit up, but no way would I have come down like that.

I enjoyed the slow descent in the cable car taking in the views.

Cable car station

Descent on the cable car

 

It had been a superb morning. Easy walking. Only perhaps 5 km but full of interest.

Now it’s time to relax and maybe have a dip in the lake.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Austria, Natural History, Photography, Salzkammergut, Travel, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zwolferhorn–The Panoramic Loop Trail.

  1. Tracey says:

    Love the write up

  2. eleonora says:

    I had been very pleased to discover this web-site.I needed to great time for this excellent read!! My spouse and i definitely savoring every little it and that i have you book-marked to check out blog you post.

Leave a Reply

