Crosby Sand Dunes

Crosby Dunes

Crosby sand Dunes extend South from Crosby Baths to the boundary of the Liverpool Freeport, a distance of just over one mile. They are a mixture of mobile and semi-fixed dunes 50 – 80 yards in width and border the western edge of Crosby Marine Park.

The dune system is relatively new and has formed since the late 1960’s when major reclamation work took place to create the Seaforth Dock complex and Crosby Marina. Sand is blown from Crosby beach and has created the ridge of dunes on either side of the promenade. A few years ago some local residents complained about the height of the ridge as they could no longer see the sea from their properties. In 2011, thousands of tones of sand were transported a few miles up the coast where the sand was used to reinforce the shoreline at Hightown to prevent further erosion.

After the disturbance some reseeding took place and I walked along today to see what was happening. Large sections are still fenced off to give the dunes chance to re-establish but in the sections alongside the footpath I was amazed at the variety of plants.

Here are some of my images.

01

02 Sea Holly and Sea Spurge

03

04

05

06

The dunes to the west of the promenade are much trampled by visitors and there is really only vegetation on their crests. From here you get good views across the river and to the wind farm on the horizon.

07 Crosby Sand Dunes

Today the beach was busy with visitors, many of whom came to see the Iron Men.

One of the Iron Men got dressed up for the occasion.

08. The Iron Men

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Another Place, Crosby sand dunes, Natural History, Photography, Sefton Coastline, The Iron Men, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crosby Sand Dunes

  1. joshua says:

    Im impressed, I must say. Really almost never do I experience a blog thats each educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you have hit the toe nail on the brain. Your concept is outstanding; the issue is a thing that not enough folks are speaking smartly about. I will be very happy that we stumbled across this in my hunt for something about it.
    joshua http://lipmuscle24.modwedding.com/diary

  2. Tracey says:

    Always love to see the Iron Men

  3. Dawn says:

    I grew up on Beach Lawn facing the Marina, but have lived away for the last 15 years. Its cold, wet & windy here today and I was feeling homesick for Crosby & the beach – your blog and photographs have lifted my spirits!

    • crosbyman66 says:

      Glad that you liked my blog and that it cheered you up.
      Yesterday we had 92 mph gusts of wind down on the beach, plus a high tide.
      Check out my posts under
      Sefton Coastline and The Iron Men.
      Alan

Leave a Reply

