Cuber to Soller via the Barranc de Biniaraix and the Cami Vell

The Three Peaks viewed from Cuber

We drove to Cuber to park by the gates leading to the reservoir. We walked round the right hand side of the reservoir following the signs for the GR 221. The water levels were very high this year and we were amazed to see several large carp, some of them leaping out of the water. Across the water we could see the three peaks of Sa Rateta, Na Franquesa and L’Ofre which some of us were due to climb on the walk. At the end of the reservoir I looked back to admire the view, taking several images that I have joined together to create a panorama.

Panorama over Cuber

The conditions were far from ideal as the cloud was building up, but we pressed ahead to the Coll de L’Ofre where we paused for a drink and a ‘Groupenphoto’

We now split into two groups. The “A” party decided to do the three peaks but in the reverse direction to out usual route. Starting with L’Ofre at 1091 m. and continuing with Na Franquesa at 1067 m and then Sa Rateta at 1084 m. This involved two steep climbs and a rough descent coming off Sa Rateta. I decided it would be too much for me as I had not really tested out my leg so, accompanied by Tony and Janice I walked back to Soller down the Barranc de Biniaraix.

Es Barranc

As always this was a wonderful walk with its dozens of hairpin bends and the view constantly changing. However, half way down the barranc we branched off to our left to follow the Cami Vell, an alternative route back to Biniaraix. This route has always been in existence but it is only in the last couple of years that it has been signposted. I had come up this way a couple of years ago but I had never used it as a descent. After a couple of hundred metres we came to a clearing where there was a waterfall and a crystal clear pool. Just the place for a dip on a hot day. With just the sound of the water and some birdsong it was such a beautiful place.

Crystal clear pool

On our left as we started to descend was an old dry stone wall. I noticed that growing at its base in some small niches were some Balearic Cyclamen. These small plants with their pure white petals are only found in the Balearic Islands and although fairly common this was only the second time that I had seen them in flower. Perhaps it was because here in Mallorca as in the UK we have had a late spring. I was soon on my knees trying to get a decent picture. At this point I wished that I had bought my SLR camera with me as my little Sony compact did not give me much control over the point of focus or the depth of field. However I did get a few reasonable shots.

Balearic Cyclamen

A few metres further on I found another white flower that I think is a member of the Allium family.

Allium Sp

Near the bottom of the path I found a type of foxglove, Digitalis Sp. It was smaller than the type back home and the flowers were more pink and yellow. It was growing between some rocks and made a beautiful picture.

Digitalis Sp

The Cami Vell joined the main track down the barranc just before Biniaraix. We were able to call in at the bar in the square for a refreshing beer before walking on to Soller and the port.

Although the weather had been overcast it had been perfect for flower photography.

 

     We had only done about 10 km

     But as always

    It is not how far you walk.

    It is what you see along the way.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Natural History, Photography, Travel, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

