Mallorca 2013. Days 9 and 10

I’ve decided to have a rest day and just do a short walk up to the tower, Torre Picada. The weather was overcast but it gave me the chance to stroll around and take some more images of flowers.

Cistus

Day 10.

The Archdukes Trail.

One of my favourite walks. When we told Maria at the hotel what our plans were for the day she said we were mad. A weather front was moving in from the mainland and torrential rain was expected by mid-day.Nevertheless, we headed off for Valdemossa and started the climb up towards the well at Es Pouet. We headed straight across at the clearing and made our way to the Hermit’s cave, the Cova de s’Ermita Guiem. The Hermit, aka Greg was at home.

By the time we reached the Archduke’s Trail it was poring with rain and we were in full waterproofs. Visibility was about 10 metres and the views were non existent.

We just knew we had to be careful as there was a 300m drop to our left. It was no place to linger so we completed the walk at a fast pace.

If you want to see what the views should have been go to my archives, May 2010 and May 2012. The Archdukes Trail.

Back in Porto Soller I was able to enjoy a couple of pints before going out to my favourite restaurant. Las Palmeras for my final meal of the holiday. The rain had stopped and the sky began to clear out to sea. As I sat there with my food and a nice bottle of wine I was able to watch the sunset develop.

It had been another marvellous holiday, meeting up with old friends and making new ones. I even met some people from Norway and from Germany who recognised me from my blog. Keep on looking.

So it is Adios Mallorca. Hasta la vista.

Panorama of the bay

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Natural History, Photography, Travel, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mallorca 2013. Days 9 and 10

  1. Pingback: ¿SABÍAS QUE AÚN HOY DÍA EXISTEN ERMITAÑOS EN MALLORCA? | PERDIDO EN MALLORCA

  2. Pingback: Gregory Smith

  3. Carme Montes says:

    Hi, Alan. I’m a History professor and I found your Blog as a link in that web page ” Perdidos en Mallorca” when I was searching information for my research. My research is about her In your blog you were talking about Hermits. I need your help. Can you put me in contact or explain me something more about this man called Greg. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

