Mallorca 2013. Day 8. The circuit of Puig Roig.

It was Sunday and at last we had blue skies so we set out to do the Circuit of Puig Roig, the Red Mountain. Access to the Mossa Estate is only allowed on Sundays so we started our walk from the estate gates following the road through olive groves towards the house. Signs diverted us away from the house and soon we were climbing the narrow path up the slopes of Puig Caragoler. Not the best path if you suffer from vertigo and I had to take it steady.

Reaching the Coll des Ases we caught our first glimpse of the sea and our path that led round the Puig Roig Massif. We rounded the Pas d’en Segarra and to the right of our path the ground fell away steeply to the sea.

The views ahead of us along the coast were magnificent and with near perfect visibility we could appreciate them.

The path seemed to go on forever but it eventually turned inland to pass the cave houses at Cosconar. There were beautiful views across to Puig Major.

We now had to descend into the lush valley before the final climb up to the Monastery at Lluc where we had left the cars.

20k. It had been a hard day. In the evening I relaxed and enjoyed a leisurely meal at Las Palmeras. Steamed Mussels to start with, then a nice steak and a large jug of the Vino Tinto de la Cassa.

Perfect.

I will do a proper report when I get home and have chance to organise my images.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Photography, Travel, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

