Wild Garlic and Marsh Marigold

Wild Garlic and Marsh Marigold

Whilst I was walking in Fairy Glen trying to photograph the bluebells I spotted some Wild Garlic and Marsh Marigold. Both species were growing alongside Sprodley Brook and I had to get my knees muddy to obtain these images.

Wild Garlic. Allium ursinum

02. Wild Garlic

Wild garlic is also known as bear’s garlic. It is a related to the chive family and is found throughout Europe. Its Latin name, ursinum is due to it being a favourite food of the brown bear and the wild boar. Not too much of a problem in England although I hear that there is now quite a large wild boar population in the New Forest and a cull may be necessary.

In the British Isles the plant is considered to be an Ancient Woodland Indicator (AWI) species and colonies are often found in association with bluebells (Hyacinthoides non-scripta) Similar to the bluebell it flowers before the deciduous trees leaf in the spring.

06. Wild Garlic

 

Marsh Marigold, Caltha palustris

02 Marsh Marigold

The Marsh Marigold, also known as Kingcup is a perennial herbaceous plant of the family Ranunculaceae. Its is found in marshes, ditches and wet woodland, preferring partial shade. I found it in clusters alongside Sprodley Brook.

04 Marsh Marigold

The flowers are yellow, 2-5 cm in diameter, with 5 petal like sepals and yellow stamens. The glossy leaves are heart shaped and increase in size after flowering.

Another wonderful day out with my camera.

It’s not about how far you walk, but what you see along the way.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Lancashire, Natural History, Photography, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

