Parbold

I planned this walk to coincide with the flowering of the Bluebells in Fairy Glen but this year Spring has been delayed due to the bad weather. I believe it is due to start on 17th May.

Nevertheless we set off from the layby neat the top of Parbold Hill and headed north across fields towards High Moor. The recent snow had all but gone with just a few isolated patches remaining and the ground was surprisingly dry. At High Moor we crossed the road and continued along the access road to Harrock Hall. We branched off to the right to walk round the edge of a wood to reach the remains of an old windmill on Harrock Hill. On a clear day there would be good views of the Lancashire Plain from the top of Harrock Hill but today it was too misty. We paused near the disused quarry at Hunters Hill for lunch enjoying the warm sunshine. We made our way back to High Moor before heading southwest to cross the road and then railway to reach the Leeds and Liverpool Canal. We then had a pleasant walk along the towpath as far as bridge No 40. We crossed this and followed the track across two fields to reach Fairy Glen, . In April last year the ground was covered with a mass of Bluebells and Wild Garlic but this year the leaves were only just showing. We had to be content with looking at some of the small waterfalls tumbling down the rocks.

A did manage to find some celandine to grab my flower picture.

Fairy Glen

A steady climb brought us back to the road and the layby where we had parked the car. An enjoyable 8 miles of easy walking in the Lancashire countryside.

I must go back there in a few weeks to photograph the Bluebells when they eventually flower.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Lancashire, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Parbold

  1. Alastair says:

    I, too, am waiting for the Bluebells before doing a new StillWalks production day near Skanda vale in Carmarthenshire. They are now appearing in the National Botanic Garden of Wales so I hope to go next week (fingers crossed).

Leave a Reply

