Panorama from Sour Howes.

Panorama from Sour Howes

My print ‘Panorama from Sour Howes’ won the Colour Print of the year competition at my local camera club.

It actually started out as two images that I stitched together using the software in ZoomBrowser EX.

Panorama 3

The two images were taken just a few seconds apart on the extended Troutbeck Circuit walk that I did last October. The idea of creating a panorama was in my mind at the taking stage so it was important that I did not alter my position. The early morning light was coming from my left and Windermere in the distance was still covered in mist. I just had to wait for my friend Peter to climb to the top of the subsidiary summit to give some scale to the picture.

After stitching the images together I started work in Photoshop, using the clone tool to hide any evidence of the join. A little bit of dodging and burning and a final check in levels and I was almost there. I added a thin black border and was ready to print. I mounted the print on White mount which lifted the colours.

Several guidebooks on the Lake District, including Wainwright state that the modest summit of Sour Howes at 1568 feet is hardly worth climbing but I must disagree.

For the technically minded the images were shot on my trusty,but now battered Sony Cybershot compact camera. It is light, easy to carry and fits in my pocket.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Lake District, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Panorama from Sour Howes.

  1. janice alderson says:

    Well done Alan. Lovely photo See you soon Tony and Janice

  2. Margaret MORETON says:

    Great picture Alan. You deserved to win.

Leave a Reply

