It’s downhill all the way

It's downhill all the way. A4

My print ‘ It’s downhill all the way’ has been accepted in the Carlisle International Exhibition of Photography.

It was taken last October when I did the ‘Extended Troutbeck Circuit.

I had turned round and spotted the mountain biker coming towards me. I waited for him to come past as I wanted him on the third and with Kentmere reservoir behind him. I was maybe a 1/1000 of a second too soon but it was OK. The rest of my group were now way ahead but balanced the picture.

It was late in the afternoon and the light was quite contrasty.The eastern slopes of Froswick and Ill Bell were in deep shadow and on my first print they were blocked out. Working in photoshop I used the dodge tool to bring some detail back into the shadows. Selective use of the dodge and burn tool gave more degree of separation. I added a thin black border and after a final check on levels and I was ready to print.

The print was made on Pinnacle Lustre paper which gave a full range of tones and looks much better than it appears on screen.

The image was taken using my old and battered Sony Cybershot compact. This is light and easily fits into a pocket. Ideal for a day on the hills when an SLR becomes a bit too heavy.

I love converting my images to monochrome but I still miss the old wet darkroom process. A quality print done on something like ‘ Ilford Gallery’ is hard to beat.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

