Hest Bank

28th Feb 2013.

We set out from Hest Bank, near Carnforth on a beautiful spring morning, bright sunshine and hardly any wind. We headed inland and after a couple of hundred yards we joined the Lancaster canal which we followed north towards Carnforth.

It had been frosty overnight and there was a layer of ice on the water which seemed to puzzle the ducks. But Spring is on the way because we saw some early Lesser Celandines on a sunny bank.

Springtime

We left the canal at Carnforth and walked up through the town passing the Railway Station made famous in the 1945 film Brief Encounter starring Trevor Howard and Celia Johnson. We picked up a path alongside the River Keer and followed it towards the sea. We were now on a section of the Lancashire Coastal Way which follows the coastline from Merseyside to Cumbria. We were going to have to watch our step as there were signs warning of quicksand. Also the tide was coming in.

07

The section along the coast was wonderful with great views across the bay to the snow covered Lakeland Fells in the distance. We had to avoid the water filled channels but these attracted a host of wading birds. We saw hundreds of Oystercatcher and Sanderling. However the highlight was when we saw an Egret. I was wishing that I had carried my SLR with a long lens but I still managed to get a picture.

After a couple of miles we were back at our car at the end of 8 miles of easy walking.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Adventures with Les, Birds, Lancashire, Natural History, Photography, Walks, Wild Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hest Bank

  1. Wendy says:

    I am jealous as I was in work. I have checked my Readers Digest Book of British Birds 1969 and indeed egrets were occasional summer visitors to the estuaries of the south and east of England. If this is global warming I am not warm! What a lovely picture. He was posing in the just the right place. A spectacular looking creature (or is that Chris?).

  2. Great write-up, I am regular visitor of one’s blog, maintain up the excellent operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

Leave a Reply

