High Tide

05

It’s 11.00am on Sunday morning and high tide at Crosby beach. The Iron Men are all submerged and the waves are coming over the sea wall. I was dressed in full waterproof gear and the only problem was keeping my camera dry.

I decided to walk along the coastal path towards Hightown. Lots of people were out walking their dogs or just enjoying a stroll.

01. Walking the dog

The shoreline is gradually being eroded and more and more bricks are exposed. Thousands of plastic bottles are being washed up and litter the ground.

02. The errosion

03

Back at the coastguard station I braved the spray to take a few more pictures.

04. Breaking wave

05

The RNLI were there keeping a lookout.

Let’s hope that our Coastguard Station can still be saved from closure.

06. RNLI

It’s now 12 o’clock and I am feeling rather wet. I realise that my waterproof over trousers are not really up to the job. Time to head home for a hot cup of tea.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sefton Coastline. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to High Tide

  1. sethsnap says:

    Wow, stay dry. What does RNLI stand for? Royal Navy Life…?

    • crosbyman66 says:

      The RNLI are the Royal National Lifeboat Institution.
      It is a 24 hour lifeboat search and rescue service to help save lives at sea.
      Several times each year they are called out on Crosby beach to rescue people who have got trapped in sinking sands whilst venturing too far out to see the Iron Men.

  2. Wendy says:

    We forget how wonderful our local coastline is; these are great pictures and sometimes you have to suffer the weather for the right shot, you can’t get spray like that without getting wet.

Leave a Reply

