Our local coastline

07.Iron Men

The Sefton Coastal path stretches for 35 km from the docks at Seaforth. through Formby, Southport and on to Crossens at the mouth of the Ribble Estuary. There are a variety of habitats , dunes, marshes and pinewoods including the Ainsdale Nature Reserve and the Formby National Trust Reserve.

The start of this walk is only a couple of miles from where I live so I have decided to keep a photographic record of the area through the year.

It’s New Year and I am down on Crosby beach. It is bright but very cold and there is not much activity apart from a few gulls and a flock of starlings.

01.Gulls                  02. Starlimg

But I am not alone because on the beach are the Iron Men.

03. Iron Man

Officially known as Another Place, this modern sculpture consists of 100 cast-iron life size figures spread out over 3 km of the beach and stretching almost 1 km out to sea.

The statues known locally as the Iron Men, were designed by Antony Gormley and each of the figures weighing 650kg are made from casts of the artists own body.

All are looking out to sea in silent expectation.

08 Iron Men

The work is seen as a poetic response to the individual and Universal sentiments associated with emigration and sadness at leaving but the hope of a new future in another place.

As the tides ebb and flow the figures are revealed and submerged by the sea.

Local opinion is divided. You either love them or hate  them. Personally I like them and love to see them at various stages of the tide and in different weather conditions.

04. Iron Man

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sefton Coastline. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

