La Cruz and the Sierra Helada.

I am still housebound with my trapped nerve and I had to cancel my planned trip to Spain.

So. I have decided to write up a couple of walks from my previous visit to the quiet resort of Benidorm!!!!!

On the Friday evening we went to Benidorm Palace to see the spectacular floor show. A nice bottle of red with the meal and a bottle of Champagne during the show added to the enjoyment. It was a few years ago and prior to management banning photography in the theatre. Flash was not allowed but setting the ISO rating to 1600 I carried on shooting. The stage lighting added to the atmosphere.

01. Dancers

02 Dancers

05. Dancers

06 Finale

Next morning I was still up early and after a full English breakfast I was ready for a walk. There was no organised walk on the Saturday so I set off on my own to do the Sierra Helada. The walk starts from the end of the Levante beach and from the landward side it looks easy. But beware. On the seaward side there are 1000 ft sheer cliffs and the path comes uncomfortably close to the edge.

First I had to reach La Cruz, the Cross. The route is along the asphalt road, a long and boring slog but there are good views from alongside the cross.

11 La Cruz

The onward route is way marked with red dots but sometimes you have to search for them. Although the day was warming up, sections of the path in the gully was still damp and slippery. I had to be careful. I was aiming for the first little summit, El Mendivil. Ahead of me I could see three Spanish couples and I caught up with them just as we reached the summit.

I was very hot and said “Mucho calor”.One of the men pointed to my stomach and said something to his companions that, perhaps fortunately I could not understand.I replied, “si, Bambino” much to their amusement. I then said, “ Non, Bambino no, Mucho vino collapso” One of the women could speak a little English and we had a conversation in fluent ‘Spanglish’

They invited me to accompany them on the ridge walk to Albir but I declined. I had not brought enough provisions, not even an emergency Mars Bar.

I spent an happy hour exploring the area and taking lots of photos.

DSC06885

The popular opinion of Benidorm is that it is completely built up and it’s true that when you are in the New Town it is like a concrete canyon. Yet looking down on Benidorm it is apparent that the built up area is really just a thin coastal strip. Travel just a few miles inland and you have mountains and open spaces. From my vantage point I could see Puig Campana with its distinctive notch and the Sierra Bernia.

Lack of sleep was catching up with me so I had a relaxing afternoon on the beach before watching the sun go down.

17

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Costa Blanca, Photography, Travel, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to La Cruz and the Sierra Helada.

  1. Looking forward to reading more. Great post. Will read on…

Leave a Reply

