A trip too far

When I composed these notes, I expected to be lying relaxed of a beach in the Costa Blanca with a glass of something cool within reach.

Instead, I an lying, not so relaxed in a hospital bed in Liverpool.

It was just a little trip, a  slight stumble, but gravity took over and next minute I was heading down the mountain and gaining speed. I tried to correct myself and stay upright. I managed it but in doing so I have pulled something and trapped a nerve. The Ilioinguinal nerve to be precise. It is sending painful impulses down my thigh and to other areas best left unmentioned.

What makes if worse is, if I twist my head I can just see the notice above my head. The writing is upside down but I cam make out the three letters NBM. Nil by Mouth. Oh Dear. I am starving.

My walking holiday in Spain is cancelled.

I am now back home with orders to rest.

It is so boring.

On the positive side it will give me the chance to review some of my old walks and maybe add them to my blog.

Hope to be back on the Fells soon.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A trip too far

  1. Caroline says:

    Oh noooo! I’m do sorry about your unexpected trip – and your lost trip to Spain! And for your pain – and hunger. I was looking foreard to your Spanish blog too. I hope you are being well looked after, and that you feel a lot better soon.
    Aye,
    Caroline

  2. Mike Bell says:

    Ouch! Hope you get better soon Alan.
    Frank fell out of his wheelchair and bust his hip and has had a pin put in it, Billy and I will drink a pint in your honour in the Bug this afternoon
    Mike

  3. Sandra Tandy says:

    Hi Alan hope you havent done too much damage sorry to hear you are missing your holiday in Spain you will have to learn to take more water with it. Hope Jean is looking after you and cooking you some nice meals. love Sandra and Jack xx

Leave a Reply

