Olta

8k130_3093

Grade – moderate

Leader – Vanessa

28th February 2005

Once again the weather dictated the day. The cloud base was low, rain was forecast and it was bitterly cold. Vanessa decided it would be best to stay near to the coast so we headed towards Calpe to climb up to the summit of Olta

 

 

 

As we walked along the forest road we could ,look down on Calpe and the rock, the Penon de Ifach. We climbed steeply to join the main circuit track with views towards the Sierra Helada and Benidorm. I was warm with climbing but needed to wear my waterproofs to keep out the cold wind. As we made our way clockwise round the mountain we could only just make out the Sierra Bernia through the low cloud. Soon it began to snow, only a few flakes, but quite enough in the strong wind.

130_3099

                                                      Taking shelter from the wind.

We reached the  plateau and made our way to the south summit at 539m. The terrain was similar to the limestone pavement in Derbyshire and there were miniature daffodils growing in some of the crevices. We did not go right to the summit as the final scramble could have been dangerous in the conditions.

131_3103

3107 cr

We retraced our steps across the plateau to a ruined house where we paused for lunch, grateful for some shelter. Our return route led us down past another ruined house and then past a recently restored church, where we paused to admire what we could of the view. It was becoming increasingly dim.

131_3108

Shortly after we got back to the bar in Calpe, it started to rain. Next morning even Puig Campana was covered in snow down to the 200m contour. Not quite what I expected from Spain at the end of February. It was warmer back home!

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Costa Blanca, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

