Sefton Coastline

The Sefton coastline lies between the estuaries of the Mersey and the Ribble. It stretches 36 km from Waterloo through Crosby, Formby, Ainsdale through to Southport.

At its southern end on Crosby beach is the spectacular sculpture by Antony Gormley, Another Place consists of 100 cast iron life size figures gazing out to sea. They are spread out over 3 km of Crosby beach and extend almost one kilometre out to sea.

 

Iron Man 9

Heading north from the coastguard station in Crosby there is an area of sand dunes which are a haven for flora and fauna.

This is where I like to wander.

The warm sunshine over the past few days had encouraged the second brood of the Small Tortoiseshell butterfly to emerge and I was amazed to see so many down the dunes.

It was a chance to try out some close up photography.

The Small Tortoiseshell Butterfly                                                                      Aglais urticae

29

21

14

11

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Butterflies, Natural History, Photography, Sefton Coastline. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.