Sculptures at Waddesdon Manor.

We visited Waddesdon Manor. Built by Baron Ferdinand de Rothschild, the Renaissance style chateau contains many art treasures but we were more interested in the gardens. The Victorian garden with its parterre, fountains and statues is considered to be one of the finest in Britain.

At the moment there is an exhibition of contemporary sculpture in the grounds

Jean and I particularly liked the Geometric Mirrors VIII featuring Aluminium, stainless steel and high polished steel super mirrors. The artist Jeppe Hein is famous for interactive pieces which blend art, architecture and technical innovation. His Geometric Mirrors explore space and substance where the boundaries of reality become blurred.

I enjoyed playing around to get my perspective of his work.

We also appreciated ‘LOVE’ by Robert Indiana. The artist lives and works in New York where he became part of Andy Warhol’s Pop Art circle. LOVE is part of a series of works that explore the form of numbers of short words.

Of particular interest to us was the work by Antony Gormley entitled Construct 1 (1996)

It is a cast iron man lying with his arms outstretched looking upwards towards the sky. It is part of his project looking into stillness and space occupied and perceived by the human body.

A different work by Antony Gormley is situated on the beach at Crosby close to where I live. It consists of 100 life size cast iron statues staring out to the horizon in silent expectation. With the aid of photoshop I must reunite this figure with his cousins.

A major exhibit is ‘The Pavillon de The’ The metal teapot has a door and seats inside to act as a frame for living jasmine to create a social atmosphere. A tea party!

It was a fascinating tour and I wish I had taken more images. My favourite is a triptych that I constructed featuring Love. The statue is set alongside a set of mythical lovers Cupid and Psyche and Bacchus and Ariadne.

Love is

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Buckinghamshire, National Trust. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sculptures at Waddesdon Manor.

  1. Tracey says:

    Great photos – really must find time to go up the road and see them.

Leave a Reply

