Longridge

I am back home and its time to get my boots on. We were heading for Longridge in Lancashire. An 8 mile walk over Longridge Fell along moorland paths and forestry trails. My walk description said that some sections can be exceedingly muddy. They were right.

We parked at Jeffrey Hill car park SD639402 and after passing through a stile we headed northeast across the moor following a way marked path. At a wall we turned left to climb up to the trig point. From here we could look out over the Vale of Chipping towards the Bowland Fells.

Crossing the wall we entered the forest and descended along tracks to emerge close to a farm at Chilsey Green. Turning left we had a short section of road walking to bring us to a disused quarry where we could eat our lunch and enjoy the view across to Pendle Hill.

We set off again heading northwest along a forest track. Here I spotted a dragonfly and was able to get up close to take some pictures.

Southern Hawker

According to my guidebook the walk was graded as challenging but so far it had been really easy. However we had not yet come to the steep descent. It was on long grass and as it had just started to rain it was very slippery. Leaving the forest we passed through a couple of stiles to reach a road. We now had another short section of road walking to reach the Craven Heifer pub where the footpath passed through the car park and play area. However it is no longer a pub but a private residence. The footpath sign was still visible (just) and we knew we had the right of way. crossing a field we reached a stile and then followed a green lane which became a sunken way. I don’t think anyone had walked this way for years as it was totally overgrown with waist high nettles and brambles. Why had I decided to wear shorts?

Just when we thought the worst was over we encountered the next challenge. A steep climb up very boggy ground. It had stopped raining but was very humid and the midges were everywhere. I was being eaten alive. When I did ‘A’ level biology 50m years ago nowhere did I learn that I was part of the food chain of a midge.

At the summit ridge we turned right to meet our outgoing track. Only another mile and a bit to go. No problem. But then it started to rain, not a little shower but a real downpour. Despite putting on our cagoules we were soaked by the time we got back to the car.

It had been an interesting day. Another adventure with Les.

I would recommend the first half of the walk to my friends but the second half only to my enemies.

However it was all worth it just to get that image of the dragonfly.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Dragonflies, Lancashire, Natural History, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Longridge

  1. Tracey says:

    Well worth it for that photo.

Leave a Reply

