A visit to Lake Orta

Just over 10km west of Lake Maggiore lies little Lake Orta. Surrounded by low hills to the south and higher mountains to the north this is a beautiful area and a chance to escape from mass tourism.

We were heading for the medieval village of Orta San Giulio. Set on a small promontory it is surrounded on three sides by deep blue water and is truly a picturesque village.

We started our visit with a climb up to the sacred mount, the Sacro Monte di San Francesco.Set on a wooded hillside above the lake there are 21 sacred chapels which feature frescoes and statues illustrating the life of St Francis of Assisi.

9665w

                                                   Ceiling of the church of San Nicolao

Statues 1

The chapels were built between 1590 and 1785 and this site differs from other Sacro Monte in that it is dedicated to just one saint.Each of the chapels feature groups of earthenware statues painted against a background of frescoes.

Statues 2

frescoe 2

Having explored several of the chapels we retraced our steps down to the lakeside and then followed a footpath round the lakeshore which in 40 minutes bought us to the village of Orta San Giulio. just in time for lunch. There were numerous restaurants all offering beautiful Italian cuisine at very reasonable prices.

After a lovely meal we made our way to the main square, the Piazza Mario Motta. Around the square were cobbled alleyways and peach and cappuccino coloured houses with wrought iron balconies and galleries. The 16th century town hall, the Palazzo della Communita, decorated with frescoes is now an art gallery.

9732

From the square it is possible to take the short boat ride across to the small island of Isola di San Giulio. Once it was said to be inhabited by dragons and serpents that terrorised all who went there. That was until the arrival 1600 years ago of St Julius (Giulio) who cast them all out. In celebration the local people built a basilica on the island.

The Island

From the main square a stepped path leads up to the church, the Chiesa dell’ Assunta.

The whole area is very photogenic and I could have stayed there for hours.

9754 Orta

Back in the square we had time to relax and watch as a newly married couple had their wedding photos taken with the lake as a backdrop – perfect.

orta

My favourite image of the day was of the Piazza Mario Motta.

9741 The square at Orta

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Italian Lakes, Lake Orta, Photography, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A visit to Lake Orta

  1. Mari says:

    Thanks so much for providing individuals with an exceptionally splendid opportunity to read critical reviews from here. It is always very sweet and packed with a good time for me personally and my office mates to search your site really 3 times in a week to learn the latest guidance you will have. Of course, I am at all times pleased with all the brilliant guidelines served by you. Selected 1 facts in this article are completely the most effective we’ve had.

  2. Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

    • crosbyman66 says:

      Hi. Thanks for your comment. I’m pleased that you like my blog.
      I do not use Twitter, I’m a bit of a technophobe really, still trying to get to grips with my digital camera and Photoshop.

  3. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend who was conducting
    a little homework on this. And he actually bought
    me breakfast simply because I found it for him… lol.
    So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah,
    thanks for spending some time to talk about this
    matter here on your blog.

Leave a Reply

