Villa Taranto Gardens

55. Garden View

Captain Neil McEarcharnThe gardens at Villa Taranto were created by Scotsman, Captain Neil McEacharn who bought the estate in 1931. He wished to transform the estate into an English style garden to remind him of home.

He spent nine years making his dream a reality, which included the difficult job of acclimatising exotic species collected from around the world.

The main feature in late July was the Dahlia maze which contained over 300 varieties of Dahlia.

21. Dahlias

The Victoria greenhouse contained exotic species of Water Lily

22. Lillies

The terraced gardens contained more Lily ponds and I wanted some more close ups. I adopted my usual position, lying down on my stomach to get a low viewpoint not realising I was creating havoc with a queue a people waiting to get by.

But, I got my shots

33. Water Lilies

Also of interest were some giant lotus flower

Lotus flower

From the high point by The Fisherman we could look out over the whole garden. We had been there over two hours and I was still taking photos.

Despite being in some marvellous gardens my favourite image of the day was not of a flower. In the small chapel where Captain McEacharn is buried there were some beautiful stained glass windows. The light shining through them and the reflections created a nice image.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Natural History, Photography, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Villa Taranto Gardens

  1. Ian Humphries says:

    Hi Dad, enjoyed looking at your recent holiday photos, some great shots. See you soon, Ian.

Leave a Reply

