Isola dei Pescatori

Just to the north of Isola Bella on Lake Maggiore lies Isola dei Pescatori (Fishermen’s Island)

Isola dei Pescatori

It is only 300 metres long and 100 metres wide and was once a typical fishing village with the inhabitants earning their living from the lake. However today the main income comes from tourism with many lovely restaurants. It is a charming place with narrow alleyways and the beautiful Parish Church of San Vittore.

29

31

It is a wonderful place to visit just to relax or maybe enjoy a meal.

 

We now had a free afternoon and I had to decide what to do. I fancied the trip to the summit of Mount Mottarone. A journey by cable car and then by chairlift. The views from the summit are reported to be the best around Lake Maggiore. The walk down from the summit is described in my walking book. It is classed as easy but still involves a descent of 1300 metres. Perhaps not, I had not taken my walking boots. I decided to wait until Saturday, our free day and just go up and down in the cable car.

It was the best decision I made all week.

Some of our group went up in the cable car and then the double chairlift. On the way down they waited in the queue at the Alpino cable car station. Waited and waited. Nothing was happening. A mechanical fault had left passengers trapped half way down. Dozens of people had no alternative but to walk down. Few were properly equipped for walking and were wearing casual shoes, sandals etc. It was a long hard walk. But, they were the lucky ones. After being trapped in the swinging cable car for almost an hour the passengers in the cable car  had to be winched down through a trapdoor in the floor.

It has quite put me off a ride through the air.

I had a nice relaxing afternoon by the pool and then a refreshing beer.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Italian Lakes, Lake Maggiore, Photography, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

