Isola Bella.

01.Isola Bella

Just offshore of Stresa lie the Borromean Islands, the largest of which is Isola Bella. The island was owned by Count Carlo 111 (1586 – 1652) and he transformed the rocky islet into a Baroque palace and gardens. He then renamed the island after his wife, Isabella D’Adda.

Although work began on the island in 1632 the finishing touches to the palace were only completed in 1959. The interior is filled with furniture, sculptures and fine art whilst the ceilings are covered in frescoes.

The main attraction though is the gardens. The ten interconnecting tiers are meant to resemble the decks of a ship and feature a wide range of fragrant flowers and shrubs.

24. Gardens at Isola Bella

13. Gardens at Isola Bella

Throughout the garden there are marble statues and white peacocks strut through the grounds. The terraces are crowned with a four tiered folly that is studded with shells and topped by cherubs, gods and a heraldic unicorn. It is a perfect example of a 17th century Baroque Italian garden.

More images are in the album below.

Nearby is the Isola dei Pescatori (Fishermen’s Island) which is my next destination.

29. View towards Fishermen's Island

The view towards Fishermen’s Island.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Italian Lakes, Lake Maggiore, Photography, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Isola Bella.

  1. situs judi says:

    Hello there! This post could not be written much better!
    Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I’ll forward
    this post to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a very good read.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

