Hartsop and Angle tarn

7th July 2012.

06. Panoramic view towards the Helvellyn range

We started our walk from the village of Hartsop and headed north climbing steadily towards Boardale Hause. There were lovely panoramic views looking west towards Ullswater and the Helvellyn range. It has finally stopped raining although there are lots of clouds around. However the weather forecast predicted dry conditions until 4.00pm. Striding Edge would be very popular today but on our route we saw very few other people.

At Boardale Hause we turned right to follow the clear path towards Angle Tarn. We made a slight diversion to scramble up Angletarn Pikes and admire the view looking down to Angle Tarn. The twin peaks of Angletarn Pikes at 1857ft are a distinctive sight when viewed from the Patterdale valley.

Scrambling back down we made our way to Angle Tarn, surely one of the most beautiful tarns in the Lake District. as we ate our lunch we could admire the panoramic view across to the Helvellyn range.

01. Angle Tarn panorama

Out route now led past Satura Crag towards The Knott. Conditions were improving and we decided to carry on up to the ridge of High Street to gaze down on Haweswater in Mardale. Retracing our steps we climbed to the summit of The Knott at 2423 ft.

It was now downhill all the way as we headed towards Hayeswater. The reservoir was full and lots of water was spilling over to tumble down Hayeswater Gill.

 

The final leg of our walk followed the main path above Hayeswater Gill taking us back to Hartsop. I passed the old barn at Hartsop that I have photographed many times. My best effort was back in 1989, taken in winter when the tree was bare. Converted into mono it made a moody landscape. I must find out the negative, scan it into my computer and try to enhance the image.

Only 8 miles but a great walk.

It’s been a super week with three walks in three different National Parks. Each with their own distinctive type of scenery. The only thing they had in common was the conditions underfoot – Wet,Wet,Wet.

I need a rest so I am off to the Italian Lakes to do some photography and maybe sample the local wine.

Ciao.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Cumbria, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

