The Olympic Torch comes to Crosby.

01. The Olympic torch

Friday 1st June 2012

Today the Olympic Torch

passed through Crosby.

I was almost close enough

to touch it.

 

 

 

 

 

Thousands of people, young and old lined the streets waiting for the procession to pass by.

04 Waiting

First came the police outriders, then the promo coaches and finally the runner bearing the torch.

08. The convoy

05. Here she comes

All the schoolchildren had been given whistles and they  blew them as the runner passed by. Too noisy for me. It was a  memorable event  and everyone enjoyed it including the Sister with the camera.

Soon they were gone and I was after them. Not actually running but at a fast walking pace. I went down the Serpentine and across the grass to the promenade where I knew the next runner would pass. Fortunately, or was it good planning, I positioned myself alongside the next runner in the relay. I was able to get a couple of good images as he waited for his turn to carry the torch.

12 Number 82

A guy on a cycle came along to give last minute instructions. He had a spare torch in his backpack in case one failed to light. The torch bearer approached and paused to light the flame in the next torch. With a cheerful wave the new runner was on his way. One more stage completed.

20

25. On his way

A once in a lifetime experience.

Roll on the Olympics.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in News, Sport. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Olympic Torch comes to Crosby.

  1. Thanks for your support and the great pictures on your Blog it was such a fantastic day Torchbearer 82 Richard Webster

Leave a Reply

