Penyal d’Honor

May 21st 2012.

Today was the last day of my holiday and I had planned a long walk from Cuber to Lluc. However I awoke to the sound of screaming wind and waves crashing against the shore. It was not the day to be doing a high level walk. Instead I suggested Penyal d’Honor from Bunyola where most of the walk would be through woodland which should offer us some protection from the wind.

Penyal d’Honor is the high limestone escarpment overlooking the valley that links Bunyola with Orient. The main top (813 metres) is surrounded by trees and is difficult to reach. We were heading for the slightly lower summit  (808 metres), from where there are panoramic views over the south of the island.

We started our walk from the church in Bunyola and climbed the steep steps up Carrar de la Lluna and then Carrar de la Cumuna, another stairway street. Our route was signposted Sa Comuna / Cami des Grau. After a few hundred yards we turned left into the Cami d’es Grau and began to climb up through the woods following the occasional red dots that indicate the route. We paused at a mirador before joining the dirt track signed Comellar den Cupi and climbed through a shallow gulley. Shortly we joined the main track to C’as Garriguer which led us to the base of the Penyal d’Honor. A ten minute climb took us to the summit where we could enjoy the views. We did not stay long on the summit as we felt a bit exposed in the gale force wind but managed to find a bit of shelter lower down where  we could eat our lunch.

Our descent was through some beautiful woodland and although the track was steep it led us to the Area Recreativa at Cas Garriguer, a popular picnic spot with the locals at weekends. From here we followed a broad trail through more woodland to eventually join a lane. We  passed a troglodytic house built into the solid rock. Although it was basically a cave it did not lack amenities as an array of solar panels powered the satellite dish and other electrical items. The final couple of miles were along a country lane flanked with wild flowers and we were soon back in Bunyola with plenty of time to enjoy a pint.

It was my last evening and once again I dined at Las Palmeras. I started off with Gazpacho followed by Grilled Swordfish, superb. And of course the obligatory bottle of the local wine.

The end of another fabulous holiday in Mallorca, Adios.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Travel, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

