GR 221 and a half.

Sunday 23rd October 2011

It was cloudy when I got up and the weather forecast was not good. Also as there was only a limited Sunday bus service, I decided to, stay local.

My route started from close to the tunnel entrance in Port de Soller and I followed signs for the Cami de sa Figuera. The wayposted path zigzagged up through woodland with views of the Balitx massif to my left.

Approaching Soller, I passed the football ground and saw signs for the GR 221. I had never followed this stretch through Soller so I thought I would give it a go. I walked through Binibassi and on to Biniaraix. I was now at the bottom of the barranc and the Pilgrim steps and the weather was brightening up. I could go up via the newly signposted Cami Vell and come down the official route and the Pilgrim steps. Sounds easy, but it was not.The Cami Vell was rougher and steeper. After over an hours climbing up a rocky staircase I met two walkers coming the other way. Just to check, I asked them how far it was before I reached the GR 221. They replied that I was on the route and to prove it they showed me their map on the mobile phone. After a long conversation in Spanglish we went our separate ways. One of us were wrong and I did not think it was me. My gut feeling was to continue on and although by now there were some butterflies in my stomach I continued to climb upwards. 20 minutes later I reached the main path, very relieved.

As it was Sunday the hunters were out and I could here gunshots in the distance. But, I was wearing a bright red T shirt so I didn’t think I would be mistaken for a goat. However after 5 hours hard walking I think I was beginning to smell like one !!!!!

It was slightly quicker coming down and I was back in Soller in time to catch the 3.30pm tram. It cost 4 euro but I was “mucho cansado”

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

