Torre Picada and the headland

Saturday 22nd October 2011.

It was cloudy over the mountains but clear over the sea so I decided to stay close to the coast. I set out at 9.15 am for Torre Picada, the old watchtower on the headland. I was the only person up there and it was very peaceful, yet it seemed strange not to see any wild flowers. I made my way down to the viewpoint to the right of the tower to admire the view along the coast towards the island of s’Illeta.

Back at the coll, I decided to explore the headland and found a track that dropped down to a little barren cove. I had to be careful as there were many fallen trees that I had to climb over and the area seemed very isolated.

Back at the coll once again I met up with two English walkers and they invited me to join them for a walk along the coast below the cliffs of Balitx. The lovely woodland path passed close to the pinnacle of Penyal Bernat and there were good views looking down to s’Illeta. We branched off onto a higher path shown on Tony’s 1:25,000 map and worked out that we could do a loop. However, after getting round one locked gate we came to a second one which although open ,displayed a notice in four languages indicating that access was prohibited to walkers. We had to retrace our steps but first we stopped for our picnic.

Back at the coll, Tony and Jonathon set out for the tower and I made my way back to the port. Later we met up again for a pint and to swap stories.

One of those days that are unplanned but turn out well.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

