The GR 221, Deia to Soller

Wednesday 19th Oct 2011.

I caught the 9.45 am bus to Deia and started to walk down the path to the beach at Cala Deia. Although it was now after 10 o’clock everywhere was still in shadow as the sun had not risen above the escarpment of the Archduke’s Trail. As the sun appeared I watched it light up the valley, terrace by terrace all the way down to the sea.

I climbed up the steps to the right of the cove to check the condition of the old coastal footpath. It was far too exposed for me especially being on my own, with some big drops down to the sea. Retracing my steps I walked up the road for a short distance until I came to the signpost for the GR221, The Dry Stone Way, known locally as the Ruta de Pedra en Sec.

I continued along the well marked path passing through olive groves and shady woodland terraces to arrive at the farmhouse of Can Prohom.

I now had several alternatives. The GR 221 continues up to the Muleta and the lighthouse but this was where I had walked yesterday. I decided to continue to Soller along the Cami des Rost. Another steep, cobbled mule trail.

I eventually came out on the main road by the petrol station and it was then only another 2 km back to Porto Soller.

The weather had been great and I was back in time for a swim in the sea before enjoying a lovely meal – Roast suckling pig, another speciality of Mallorca.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

