Colico.

Today we decided to make use of the local bus and ferry services to explore the northern end of Lake Como. We caught the C10 bus to its final stop, Colico, the northernmost town on the eastern shore of the lake. We had plenty of time to enjoy the lovely square with its fountain and to walk along the promenade. To the north there was an area set aside for water sports. After a picnic by the lake we were able to relax over a cappuccino before catching the slow ferry back to Tremezzo.

03. Colico

06.Colico

09. Colico

12. Colico

15. Colico

The journey back took over two hours but was fantastic. The scenery at the northern end of the lake is very dramatic with the tiny villages backed by high mountains.

16. Head of the lake

It was a perfect day for photography and I took lots of photos as the ferry called in at all the villages.

Domaso.

19. Domaso

Gravedona. Together with Dongo and Sorico, Gravedona once formed the Medieval republic of Tre Pievi.

23. Gravedona

Dongo

26. Dongo

Pianello

30. Pianello

Dervio

32. Dervio

Varena

38. Varena

Menaggio

42. Menaggio

Bellagio

48. Bellagio

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Italian Lakes, Lake Como, Photography, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Colico.

  1. kmeng3 says:

    These are beautiful!

  2. tracey says:

    I want to go

  3. Krystl carruthers says:

    Fantastic photos of the northern part of the lake looking forward to seeing them.

  4. Krystl carruthers says:

    Yes we have been to Verenna via Bellagio then onto Menaggio which was yesterday which was good, and the weather was lovely today is cold and wet!!!

Leave a Reply

