Lake Maggiore

Maggiore panorama.jpg 1

Sunday 1st August. Today we went on a coach trip to visit lake Maggiore, the second largest of the Italian lakes. We travelled along the western shore of Lake Como to Menaggio where we turned left into the Val Menaggio heading towards Lake Lugano. We passed Lago de Piano, a beautiful small lake. This is good walking country and I picked up, leaflets describing several walks in the area. I will have to return neat year. We drove along the shore of Lake Lugano, crossing the border into Switzerland, before stopping at Lugano for coffee. We then headed north along the motorway towards Locano at the northern tip of Lake Maggiore. Our journey then took us along the western shore of the lake to re-enter Italy and reach our destination at Stressa.

Just offshore lie the Borromean Islands and we decided to take the short trip by motor launch to visit Isola dei Pescatori (Fisherman’s Island) It is home to a thriving fishing industry but is also a big tourist attraction. We wandered slowly round the island pausing for lunch by the lakeside enjoying the peace and quiet. On the way back to shore we passed Isola Bella, the largest of the islands. The island has been transformed into a huge Baroque palace with ten tiers of formal gardens filled with fountains and statues. Back in Stressa we had plenty of time to stroll along the promenade.

Our journey back to Como was less interesting as it was mainly motorway but it had been a great day out.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Italian Lakes, Lake Maggiore, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

