Brynrefail to Moelfre

CHA Walk. B party.

Yesterday I led the ‘B’ party walk on Anglesey. It was a linear walk which started at Brynrefail. We headed across fields to Bodafon Mountain from where we could enjoy the views along the coast. We retraced our steps to Tyn y Mynydd and then followed a series of field paths to bring us out on the road close to the Pilot Boat Inn. This was an ideal spot to stop for lunch. We then picked up the Anglesey Coastal footpath which we followed all the way to Moelfre.

Conditions on the day were perfect with clear blue skies and just a slight breeze. There was good visibility and we could appreciate the coastal scenery. There we lots of people on Llugwy beach enjoying the sunshine. I took loads of photos including some of the ‘girls’ on the beach. It was going to be an audition for the 2012 CHA calendar, but they went all coy and shy!!!!!.

We were back in Moelfre with plenty of time to relax over a drink. Some of us went to the Kimmel Arms Hotel to sample the excellent Robinson’s Unicorn Bitter. 4.2 % ABV. A magnificent pale, tart and quenching complex brew. Nose : Rich and complex aromas of golden hops, malt and tart fruit. Palate: Superb mouth-feel of rich malt and hops, a long dry finish with citric fruit notes.

Others in our party went to the local tea shop where I am told that a pot of tea can also quench your thirst.

8.5 miles of gentle walking, a great day out.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby CHA, Wales, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brynrefail to Moelfre

  1. wendy haycock says:

    This is indeed a lovely bit of coast. The next section to Red Wharf Bay is also recommended (great pub as well). There are some spectacular wrecks off moelfre viz. Royal Charter and the submarine HMSThetis.

Leave a Reply

