El Faro, The Lighthouse Trail.

After an enjoyable morning at the Jardines de Alfabia,  Jean and I decided to do ‘The Lighthouse Trail’, a fairly easy 4 mile stroll up to the lighthouse at Cap Gros overlooking the bay at Port de Soller.

From the rear of the derelict Hotel Rocamar we started to climb up the old cobbled mule trail as it passed through terraces and olive groves. Along the way there were good views across the bay to the Serra Tramuntana and I could pick out L’Ofre and Es Cornadors that I had climbed earlier in the week. We skirted the fortified farmhouse at Muleta and then picked up the GR 221 which we followed to the refuge and lighthouse at Cap Gros.

This is a walk that I usually do to see the many species of wild flowers but this winter had been very dry and many of the flowers were past their best and had gone to seed. However the dry conditions had caused the leaves of the Euphorbia bushes to turn red early in the season and these produced a pleasant foreground for some of my images.

It had been the hottest day so far and we were both ready for a rest and a cooling drink when we got back to the hotel.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

