Massanella

Massanella is situated in the centre of the Serra Tramuntana and is the highest accessible peak in Mallorca, its twin summits rising to 1348m and 1352m.

We started our walk from the petrol station at the Coll de sa Batalla just south of Lluc. We followed a track up towards the Comafreda farm to reach a gate. Usually there is a guard present who charges 3 euro to allow you to pass through the Comafreda estate. Today, no-one was there so we got a free trip. Here our party split into two groups. Paul, Greg, Neil and Bill were going to climb Massanella via the Coll des Prat. This route is graded A++ and the final scramble far to exposed for me. Brian, Krystl and I decided to continue along the ‘tourist route’. We followed a wide track up to the Coll de Sa Linea where there were two large marker stones in a clearing. We turned right between the stones and a good path led us through woodland to reach another engraved stone. The left hand path is signposted ‘Font y Puig’ and the right hand path ‘Puig y Font’ We went straight ahead following occasional red paint dots. At about 800m we came out above the tree line and were now on bare rock. Still, we only had another 500m more climbing to do. We followed the ‘little men’, small cairns and red dots and made our way slowly to the summit. Some of the limestone rocks had been carved by the wind and rain and had razor sharp edges, so sharp that they threatened to cut a new tread pattern in the soles of our boots. If you fell on them you would be cut in half. After three and a half hours climbing we reached the summit and could rest and have our lunch.

Conditions were perfect and we enjoyed the panoramic views over almost all of the island. To the east we could see the Bay of Pollenca and the Bay of Alcudia whilst to the south we could see Palma and the plain. My favourite view was looking west towards Cuber and the mountains where I usually walk.

We had almost finished our lunch when the others arrived. After a suitable rest we made our way back down retracing our steps.

Back at the hotel we were able to enjoy a pint with a real sense of achievement.

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Massanella

  1. Hi Alan,
    Fantastic pictures and day logs, always exceed my expectations.Colin is particularly impressed with your website .He is talking about a holiday in Mallorca now!!!!!! (all we need is a babysitter).
    Don’t think i seen Jean. I am going to pass your website to my mum, she will really enjoy looking at your pictures.

    See you next week

    Elaine

Leave a Reply

