Hayfield. CHA

Yesterday I went to the Peak District with my local rambling club, Crosby CHA. As usual, I did the ‘A’ party walk, a circular with Kinder Downfall the objective.

We set off from Hayfield under gray skies and started our climb up Snake Path onto the moors. It had been quite dry over the past few days and an overnight frost had left the ground frozen so there was less mud than we expected. Our route took us along White Brow above Kinder Reservoir and then after crossing a ford we began our climb up William Clough to reach the plateau. As we gained height the temperature dropped and the water turned to ice. This meant we had to be careful crossing some of the fords. We followed the good path along the edege to reach Kinder Downfall. This is famous for flowing uphill when the wind is in the west, but not today ! It was frozen and resembled one big icicle. I renamed it – Kinder Icefall. We had to be careful crossing the frozen Kinder River but then we followed the Pennine Way heading south. Our intention had been to leave the main path at Red Brook and return over Kinderlow End but this way was steep and would involve crossing several fords. Instead we continued along the Pennine Way to Edale Rocks before cutting across to Edale Cross. Our final section was down Oaken Clough then across to Tunstead Clough farm before joining the minor road back to Hayfield.

It had been very cold so we sought some warmth at the Royal Hotel . They had a good selection of real ales.

Hyde’s bitter. 3.8% abv. Amber in colour it has an aroma of spicy hops and malt. The taste is a bitter sweet balance.

I tried the Big Tree Bitter 3.9% abv. Brewed by Dunham Massey.it is a golden, full bodied bitter with a good balance of hops and malt.

Our diversion had extended the walk to 10.2 miles. An excellent walk on a cold day.

To view some of my images from the day, go to www.crosbycha.wordpress.com   ‘A’ party – Hayfield

About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Crosby CHA, Derbyshire. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hayfield. CHA

  1. wendy haycock says:

    It must have been cold to totally freeze fast-flowing water. This sounds like it was a good walk, I like the sound of the beers as well, Hyde’s is usually a fair pint.

Leave a Reply

