The Crook of Lune

3rd october 2010.
 
Seven of us set out in pouring rain to do a 8 mile walk at the Crook of Lune, near Lancaster. Our walk took us on a five mile section of the Lune Valley ramble following the river round the wide bend known as the Crook of Lune. We squelched our way across waterlogged fields but the worst part was in the second half of the walk. Having negociated a field containing a bull and its harem of cows we came to a gate. It was surrounded by mud (I will call it that to be polite) It was up to our calves and very smelly. After 4 hours hard walking we arrived back at our car and the sun came out. It was too late we were all soaked.
My waterproofs are still in the garage, they are banned from the house.
 
No pictures today, my camera never came out of my rucksac.
 
I’m off on a walking holiday in Mallorca next week, let’s hope I find some sunshine.
About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Lancashire, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

