Mirador Leandro Ximenis

Day 10.

Today we set out to climb the Puig de s’Alquera and visit the Mirador Leandro Ximenis.
Starting from Bunyola we walked along a lane before crossing the main Palma-Soller road.
We passed behind a large finca and then began the two mile climb up terraces of olive groves. On the way we passed an old well. There was still water in the well and a bucket, but we were not thirsty.
We turned off the main path to climb up to the mirador but our route got a bit hairy. Trust your boots said Greg, but there was too much exposure for me. I retreated and came up the normal route. Conditions were perfect and there were marvellous views from the summit. Although it is only 609 metres high we could see the Bay of Palma and the cathedral plus most of the central plain.
Our return was via the Pass de sa Fesa. Interesting but with a very tricky stile. We then descended very steeply through Holm Oak woods, once again having to be very careful. The final section was along a country lane but the views and the wild flowers made it enjoyable.
back in Bunyola we had time for a pint of Estrella Damm. A perfect end to the walk.
Only about 7 miles but it felt like more.
Walking has made me hungry.
Grilled swordfish and a Bottle of vino blanco de la casa sounds about right.
It was an excellent day for photography. some of my images from today are in the album > Mirador Leandro Ximenis
About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

