Adventures in Mallorca, Day 3

Today I decided to walk with Barbara, the guide employed by the Hoteliers Association. The plan was to climb Teix and Galera. However, this was cancelled as the route between Teix and Galera over the Puig des Vent could be dangerous. There would be a lot of rock hopping. Imagine the limestone pavement at Malham, but on a larger scale. Two foot gapd between the rocks and cracks six foot deep. Not advisable on wet rock.
 
Instead we walked to Cala Deia. An easy 8 mile stroll.
Once again I was on the GR 221. The route is known as the "Ruta de la pedra en sec" or in English, the Dry stone wall route, as much of the route takes advantage of the old cobb led paths which communicated the villages and passed between the olive trees and terraces of dry stone walls.
 
We dropped down to Cala Deia for lunch. The beach was covered with a couple of feet of seaweed swept in by the storms last weekend. The Torrent Major lived up to its name. I have never seen so much water flowing down.
 
We had sufficient time in Deia to enable me to climb up to the church and visit the cemetary to see the grave of Robert Graves, the author of I Claudius.
 
I also had time for a cooling pint at my favourite bar in Deia.
About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adventures in Mallorca, Day 3

  1. Sandra says:

    The weather looks a lot better today hope it carries on improving. Enjoyed looking at your photos love Sandra x

Leave a Reply

