Haigh

Friday 29th January 2010.
A 7 mile circular walk taking in part of the Leeds & Liverpool canal and Haigh Country Park.
 
Les, Chris and myself set off from Bridge 63 at Red Rock and followed the Leeds & Liverpool Canal for a couple of miles to bridge 60, an iron trellis constuction which carries the main drive to Haigh Country park.
We left the canal to walk through the grounds of the park before crossing the brige and following the main drive up to the house.
After our lunch we walked along a minor road and then field paths to rejoin the canal towpath back to the car.
 
As usual we were kitted out in full hiking gear. Boots,gaiters, rucksack etc.
With map cases round our necks and GPS to hand we were ready for anything.
In the grounds of the park we met three ladies out for a gentle stroll.
One of them said
" You look like serious walkers"
I replied.
" not always, sometimes we have a laugh"
 
She rolled her eyes, shook her head and walked on muttering something about mad Scousers.
 
A good walk on a bright but very cold day.
 
 
Leeds & liverpool Canal                   Haigh Hall
 
The hall was constructed in during the reign of George IV and was the home of the 24th Earl of Crawford who was made Baron Wigan of Haigh Hall.
 
With all the snow melted we were able to some some early snowdrops.
 
The grounds look ,like they will be worth another visit in the spring when all the daffodils are in bloom.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Lancashire, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

