Parkgate, The Dee estuary and the Wirral Way

Friday 4th december.
 
Parkgate.
Parkgate was an important port from the start of the eighteenth century, in particular as an embarkation point to Ireland.
The river Dee, which served as a shipping lane to the city of Chester had silted up, creating the need for a further port upstream.
Hence the settlement of Parkgate was born.
 
Today it attracts tourists and bird watchers due to the extensive salt marshes.
 
We started our walk in Parkgate and followed the Dee estuary towards Little Neston.
A series of field paths led us round the outskirts of the village to join the Wirral Way,
This former railway track passes through deep cuttings and tree lined embankments on its way back to Parkgate.
 
An easy six mile stroll, just right for a dull December day.
 
 
 
 
 
      Parkgate                     The Wirral Way
About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

