British Heart Foundation

Sponsored Walk.
Saturday 6th June.
The Lake District, Twin Peaks challenge.
After a week of glorious sunshine the weather forecast for Saturday was for rain.
This proved to be correct but there were also strong winds.
A team of local mountain guides set off at 5.30 am to assess the situation.
They reported back that at 2500 ft the conditions were horrendous.
The temperature was 2 degrees, the wind speed was 50 mph and the rain was falling as sleet on the summit.
The event organisers decided that it was too dangerous to allow 250 participants to venture onto the fells.
So it was over to plan B, an alternative lower level route.
This was done at a fast pace and everyone completed the course.
To date I have raised over £400 for the British Heart Foundation so all the aches and pains were worth the effort.
Many thanks to all those that sponsored me.
 
Time now for a few days rest
 
 
Finished, and I got the T-shirt.
 
 
About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

