The Crook of Lune

Jan 23rd.
The Crook of Lune.
We had planned an 8 mile circular walk from the Crook of Lune, crossing farmland towards Aughton and returning along the bank of the River Lune.
First we visited Gray’s Seat, a viewpoint from where JMW Turner did his famous painting.
Today the view was far from impressive.
Turner must have been lucky and enjoyed better visibility than us. Also he used his artistic licence so as not to include the caravan park in the foreground !!!!
Routefinding was confusing on the stretch between Lower Highfield and Far Highfield but we eventually reached Aughton and the river bank. It should now have been a simple stroll back to the car park but the whole area was flooded.
We chatted to a farmer who was concerned about his flock of sheep who were marrooned on a island with the waters rising. He informed us that our path was waist deep in water and it would be dangerous to attempt it. We were forced to retrace our steps across the muddy fields and after 6 hours walking arrived back at the car, tired but happy.
Another adventure with Les.
 
.
 
 
About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

