Scafell Pike

Friday 13th June.
Scafell Pike. 3210 feet. The highest mountain in England.
Ascent from Borrowdale via Esk Hause.
From the farm at Seathwaite we walked up to Stockley Bridge and after crossing the bridge we turned left to follow the path alongside Grains Gill to the junction of the path to Sty Head. Here we turned left  along Ruddy Gill to climb up to Esk Hause.
The path above Calf Cove became increasingly rough as we picked our way between boulders. The summit was now in sight but first we had to lose height at Ill Crag coll before climbing the slopes of Broad Crag. Another descent on a steep narrow path led us to Broad Crag coll and the final climb to the summit at 3210 feet.
Although the day was overcast the visibility was good and we enjoyed the view from this, the highest point in England.
We retraced our steps to Esk Hause and then followed the path past Sprinkling Tarn to Sty Head. We found the start of the Corridor Route and chatted to some walkers who had just descended that way. We returned to Seathwaite via Sty Head Tarn and Stockley Bridge.
10 miles of hard walking but a fantastic day out.
About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Adventures with Les, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

