Deia to Porto Soller

May 14th
An easy walk from Deia to Porto Soller along the GR 221.
The GR 221 is also known as the Dry Stone Wall route and crosses the Serra de Tramuntana from the Port d’Andratx in the southwest of the island to Pollenca in the northeast. It covers approx 150 km and takes advantage of old cobbled donkey trails and passes alongside terraces of olive trees. A lot of work has been done on the route in the past few years and it is now well signposted throughout most of its length.
The section from Deia to Soller has been re-routed to avoid almost all of the roadwalking and it was this section that I wanted to explore. I rejoined the old path close to the houses at Son Coll and followed the old postmans path to Can Prohom. From here I followed the GR signposts to the Muleta hostel near to the lighthouse at Porto Soller.
 
It is now possible to walk the full length of the GR 221, the Ruta de pedra en sec, staying in the mountain hostels or refugi.
 
Ideas for a future holiday !!!.
About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Travel, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

