The circuit of Balitx

Monday May 5th.
We joined Barbara, the Hotelliers Association guide for the circuit of Balitx.
We started the walk in Porto Soller and followed the road up to the Coll d’es Figuera where we joined the coastal path. We passed the impressive overhanging tower, the Penyal Bernat and soon the path began to narrow as we made our way along the coast. We were about 200 metres above the sea and we could look down on the rocky islet of S’Illeta. The cairned path led towards the Coll de Cordellina and was quite exposed in places where it crossed a steep rock wall. Once at the top we had time to admire the panoramic views along the coast before making the steep descent into the valley. Our path now led to the Pas de H’Eura ( the pass of the ivy ) and involved more rock scrambling. A bit like a mini version of Jakes Rake, scrambling up a V shaped gully with an exposed section at the top. I was far from happy and even Barbara had to give me a helping hand. Our path now led us through clumps of carritx grass following the occasional cairn until we reached an old cassita which had been renovated and is now used as a picnic area. We loined a dirt track overlooking the Balitx valley and then descended the Cami Vell de Balitx back towards Soller.
About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Mallorca, Travel, Walks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

