Aukland

Feb 21st. 22nd.
Aukland, the city of sails.
We stayed at the Aukland Heritage.The building was originally the site of the famous ‘ Farmers ‘ department store. The art deco style building was converted to a hotel in 1998.
The main attractions of Aukland are centred along the waterfront and we were lucky to see the QE 2 leave on the last leg of her final voyage before becoming a floating hotel in Dubei.
Friday was overcast and windy but we went on a harbour cruise before catching a ferry across to Devonport to see the well preserved Victorian buildings on the waterfront. It was like stepping back in time.
In the evening we ate at Cin Cin on Quay, a popular seafood restaurant situated in the old ferry building with good views looking over the harbour.
Images are in photo album – Aukland
J. denotes images were taken by Jean.
About crosbyman66

My aim is to create a photo diary of my walks and my travels. I have two main hobbies, walking and photography and these complement each other. I am a senior citizen, what used to be called an old age pensioner, but I don't feel old. Since retirement I have had more time to pursue my hobbies and the opportunity to travel more. My philosophy now is - Do what you can, while you can. My other interests are fine wines and keeping fit. These may not complement each other but keep me happy.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

